I thought I was born in the wrong body

Originally posted at The Fifth Column

When I hear about people “being born in the wrong body” I have flashbacks to my childhood. My mother always told me she thought I was going to be a boy because her pregnancy with me was so different than the one with my sister. Also, in my family, there are three sets of cousins, the older sibling is a girl and the younger is a boy…except for me. I was told from a young age that “I should have been a boy”. I had no idea what this meant, but I wished I was one. I wanted to hang out with the boys and do “boy things”, and I didn’t like being the girl, or a girl. I thought I was supposed to be a boy and something had gone wrong.

I remember this feeling of thinking I should have been born a boy as long as I can remember. My whole family was split down the line of male/female. Everyone. The boys all did one thing, the girls did another. I always chose to go with the boys, and I was the only outlier in either group. The boys and girls both made fun of me, as did the men and women, and it became a normal thing to joke about: that I should have been born a boy.

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

