Et tu, Owen Jones?

Originally posted at Firewomon

Early last summer, following the Dyke March debacle, Benjamin Cohen, publisher and CEO of Pink News, retweeted a trans male, Sarah Brown, telling me to suck his balls.

Sarah Brown is a man who identifies as a woman. He has, according to him, had surgery to remove his external male genitalia. Whether his balls are pickled or not, I don’t know, and nor do I want to. The point is that it’s rather rude to tell a woman to suck your balls. (For the avoidance of doubt, I did not write the post to which he linked, nor have I ever written anything for that site. If I had, I’d own up to it. It’s a good site.)

I asked Cohen whether I was to take his retweet as an endorsement [and] I didn’t get any further response from Cohen. Now, if I were him, and I had NOT meant the retweet to be an endorsement, I’d have made my position clear immediately. So I conclude that Cohen, seeing the Tweet from Brown, thought something along the lines of ‘Tee-hee, isn’t that hilarious,’ and hit the ‘retweet’ button.

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

