So Your Husband’s a MtF Crossdresser or Transsexual…

Originally posted at FeminGenUality

I’ve recently come across some posts from women who are the wives or girlfriends of transgendered males. The posts are often variations on the same themes: fear, anger, feelings of betrayal and loss.

Yep. Been there, done that and got the divorce decree.

As I’ve mentioned before, I was married for 11 years to a man who told me he liked to crossdress on our first date. In my typical fashion, I went into denial – for a short time. I figured he must be joking, and I let it go. It was maybe a week or two later, he reminded me that he was, in fact, sincere about it. But I was told it was just a “hobby,” and that he would never, ever consider a sex reassignment surgery (this was so long ago, that’s what it was called then.)

Flash forward a decade, and the same man was coming home after an day out, waving a brochure, talking about spending $1,200 of OUR money on electrolysis (with no prior consultation) – and trying to deflect my anger by at the same time bringing home a new, orange kitten.

I’m happy to say that my time with Pudge (the aforementioned kitty) has outlasted the remaining time I had with my now-ex-husband. My ex, who – the last time we talked about it – had moved back in with his first wife, had stopped working and was trying to figure out how to transition while having no job and no money.

Talk about dodging a bullet. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

